scrappy trip around the world quilt

scaw1

I totally drank the kool-aid and joined the InstaGram scrappy trip around the world quilt-a-long.   I usually like doing my own thing but admit I found community and a sense of belonging with other like-minded quilters during this project.

scaw3

These blocks were highly addictive.   I’d make one block and think “ok, I’ll take a break after this one” only to find myself having to make at least 2 more.

scaw2

I used some of my favorite fabrics and scraps in this quilt.  When I look at it I find a new color combo or sweet detail that lifts my spirits!  The back is a  perfect yellow polka dot, pieced together to make it fit. The hand sewn binding is finished using the ladder stitch.

Scrappy Trip Around the World is the first quilt my new Juki 2010 had the pleasure of stippling.  The Juki has amazing speed and power.  I like it.  A lot.

scaw4

Finished quilt size is 44″ x 57″

~ Susannah Kate

One thought on “scrappy trip around the world quilt

Leave a Reply

