‘school spirit’ t-shirt quilt

TSQDOUBLE

Here’s my new quilt finish!  This was a commission for a friends daughter.  I like how it turned out and the process was enjoyable.   I backed each t-shirt with a lightweight stabilizer as suggested in many online tutorials.  The stabilizer causes quite a bit of thickness to the quilt top but I do feel it was necessary to keep the knit fabric from stretching!tsqupcloseI free-motion quilted using a simple stippling technique.  I felt so out of practice but I think it turned out just fine.  I machine stitched the binding which isn’t my favorite way to bind but I do feel that it’s stronger than hand binding, especially for quilts that you know a child will be dragging around and pulling on.

All in all, my first experience making a t-shirt quilt went well even though commissioned projects can include quite a bit of pressure.  How do you feel about making commissioned quilts?  Love it / hate it?  I want to know!

xoxo,

Susannah Kate

Leave a Reply

