halloween donut quilt top

donut quilt top halloween

This past summer I made a Halloween themed Donut quilt top. I made the throw size which will be perfect for snuggling on the couch this fall! My plan is to free-motion quilt this using a bat design. I realize Halloween is just around the corner but maybe I can get it done!

The quilt pattern is by Johanna Masko and is called Donuts. I just love it! It’s simple, straightforward and fun!

I’ve recently discovered the value of quilt patterns. With a pattern, compared to just pulling some fabric and chopping it up, you know exactly what you are getting into. Isn’t that nice? No more wailing at the end of a project when you realize you needed just a quarter more of a certain print or the dreaded “slump” that comes along with not knowing if a quilt top is done or not. Sometimes when I’m working on a project I want to know there is an end! I’m not saying I don’t love a good scraptastic “who knows where this is going” quilt project but those can make my brain hurt just a bit.

What you do like? Patterns or just winging it? Something in between?

I will be posting finished quilt pics of my Halloween Donut quilt SOON!

xoxo,

Susannah Kate

One thought on “halloween donut quilt top

  1. Alex Duenkel

    A little bit of both for me! There is just something about playing with fabric and making patterns that appeal the eye of the viewer… or just mine 🙂
    And I love it when it happens by accident too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

